Korean Classes – Summer 2017

Hello! 안녕하세요!

Planning on traveling to Korea and want to learn a few useful expressions? Know a few colloquial expressions in Korean since you grew up with your Korean grandparents, but curious to learn the language more in-depth? Want to simply learn a new language over the summer? Well, your timing is great because I’m planning on spending my summer teaching Korean classes through Korea Daily!

Please sign-up using this Google survey link

Location: Korea Daily office in the heart of “Convoy” (7750 Dagget St., Suite 206, 92111). Ample parking available.

Beginner level dates: 7:30 to 9pm on the following days

Wed, Jun 14 / Wed, Jun 21 / Wed, Jul 5 / Mon, Jul 10, / Mon, Jul 17 / Mon, Jul 24 / Mon, Jul 31 / Mon, Aug 7

Intermediate level dates: 7:30 to 9pm on the following days

Thu, Jul 6 (6:30-8pm on this day) / Wed, Jul 12 / Thu, Jul 20 (6:30-8pm on this day) / Wed, Jul 26 / Wed, Aug 2 / Wed, Aug 9 / Wed, Aug 16

Class materials: no book purchase necessary, as I will provide weekly study materials in advance via Google docs that you should print and bring to class. But if you have Sogang Korean 1A and 1B Student Books, please bring it to class as I will often be referring to materials from those books. So all you need to bring to each class is a notebook, something to write with, and an attitude ready to learn with fellow students of all backgrounds and proficiency levels!

Beginner Level Course Fee: Up to you! I will take donations of whatever amount you feel that you would like to provide. As a comparison, a local private language learning center called Language Door has students pay around $32 per 1.5 hour class plus a registration fee.

Intermediate Level Course Fee: $20 per class per person

Payment options: cash, check payable to Jini Shim, or Venmo to ID: “jini-shim”

Questions? Feel free to send any questions via email (shimjini [at] gmail.com) and/or Kakao Talk (ID: cestjini)

*I’m open to taking private lesson requests, also. Please ask me about it if you’re interested.

 

[Jini holds an MA in Applied Linguistics / TESOL. She has taught Korean at various places including San Diego State University, Camp Pendleton Marine Base, and Language Door. She’s also the online language teacher for KECOS, a non-profit educational group based in Los Angeles.]

Advertisements